Home Decor

Nestify Subscription Box Review

How is today only Thursday? I’ve been sick all week and it is starting to feel like the weekend will never get here! On top of being sick, I spotted a giant spider in our bedroom a couple days ago, which was able to hide itself somewhere (probably my bed!) before my husband could get home and kill it. So needless to say, I am a little sleep deprived! And to top it off, my trusty Keurig died on me last weekend (a pretty new white one is en route to me!). I generally try to not to be a person who lives for the weekends, but right now, all I can think about is leaving the office on Friday afternoon and relaxing!

I love getting packages in the mail, which is why I love subscription boxes. It’s like Christmas once a month! But, I am fickle and rarely keep any one subscription (other than Birchbox) for very long. When I heard about Nestify, I was so excited and decided I just had to give it a try. So I signed up back in March, and waited anxiously for my April box to arrive. Of course, it arrived while we were on vacation in Colorado, but it was waiting on my doorstep when we got home.

IMG_0765

I knew that the theme for the April box was Greenery (based on Pantone’s color of the year), and I was excited to see what was inside. I have a hard time incorporating much color into my home (or wardrobe) and always tend toward neutrals, so I was hoping to find something I could be excited to incorporate into my décor.

IMG_0766

Opening the box revealed a note about the theme along with a few inspiration pictures. When I pulled back the tissue paper, this is what I found inside:

IMG_0769

The first thing I spotted was something macramé, which I know is everywhere right now, but I don’t have any of in my own house. Yay!

IMG_0777

I unbundled the rest of the little packages and here is what I found:

4×4 green picture frame: this is kind of cute. I will probably find somewhere to put this on a shelf or nightstand.

Massage oils: they smell good, but it seems like something I would be more likely to find in my Birchbox.

Trinket dish: I love a good trinket dish, and this one is…fine. I would actually prefer it without the green paint splashes on it though. Again, I may find somewhere to put this in a guest room or something.

Macramé plant holder: Unfortunately, I didn’t have a planter the right size, so I can’t show you what it looks like hanging up. Yet. I have a window spot where I want to give this a try, once I find a planter that works. I found a small brass planter at H&M that I’m going to try out. I can’t quite bring myself to pull a hole in a ceiling for it though.

Pillow cover: the background in the picture above is a printed pillow cover. I love the idea as I always like new throw pillows, but I just can’t figure out how to work this into my current decor. I don’t love green + yellow, but it may work great in a more colorful, eclectic space.

Overall, I think that the Nestify box has a lot of potential. It’s still a pretty new service, but I wasn’t blown away by the April box. If I was out shopping, I don’t know that I would have purchased any of the individual items in the box, with maybe the exception of the macramé plant hanger. But then again, maybe that isn’t a bad thing. If I was only going to get things that I would otherwise purchase, what would be the point of getting the box at all?!

I’ve seen some hints for the May box, and it looks promising, so I’m excited to see what it has in store! Like I said, I think it has the potential to be a lot of fun, and encourage me to move out of my decorating comfort zone. In fact, I’m going to challenge myself to work all the items in the April box (minus the massage oil!) into my current décor. I’ll let you know what I come up with!

What do you think? Would these items work in your home? Would you be excited to get this box? I’ve seen Nestify offer your first month at a discount ($25 with code MOTHERSDAY) which is a little easier to swallow if you end up thinking, “meh.” At the full $39, I’m really hoping to like, if not love, the May box! And if the May box ends up being as fun as it’s sounding, it would make a great Mother’s Day gift for all those moms who love to decorate (like mine)!

Leave a Reply

